Starting Somewhere (or why I <3 Dailymile)

After being sick and tired of being sick and tired, I recently decided I was going to make more of an effort to get in shape. Truth of the matter is, it’s not so much that I’m lazy, its just that, when presented with the option to do something or work out, I will, as a general rule, choose something, anything, over physical exertion. So I decided to do a few things based on my personality that would make me more inclined to reach this goal.

First I decided to take little steps, choosing to start with Yoga, something I used to be very good at and continue to be passionate about. Half an hour of a few simple sun salutations, maybe a warrior series, a balance pose or two, and a cool down. Taking these bite sized approaches to working out not only made it approachable, it gave me a realistic stopping point. A goal I could reach with out that unproductive feeling of giving up, which has generally lead to my permanent abandonment of fitness goals & practices.

Fitness Training LogSecond, I reactivated my DailyMile account. Initially the idea was to be inspired/motivated/guilted into actually doing my workout by people I know and love. It has the added bonus that my “coaches” don’t have to see me work out so I get all the positives of having personal cheerleaders without all the negatives of embarrassment when I look utterly ridiculous about 3/4 of the way through my practice.

The way DailyMile works, you can include any physical activity. Walking to the store? That counts. Walking to Center City for errands – Counts! Getting Gelato on the way home from a Philly’s game – Counts! Hell, I just paced around my house for half an hour during a phone call, according to DailyMile’s calorie counter, that was 161 calories, and that my friend, Totally Counts! As a result, you end up treating more things like exercise, which makes it seem like less of an effort, and makes you more inclined to make healthy decisions like walking or riding your bike places (as opposed to siting on your couch eating an entire pint of Ice Cream)

Map your routes using Google Maps, or use routes uploaded by other DailyMile users.

Map your routes using Google Maps, or use routes uploaded by other DailyMile users.

It all adds up. And that brings me to my Third Point: DailyMile made my workouts tangible, something I could collect & add up, which made them, in a way, all the more real. In my opinion, this factor has contributed the most to my energy levels. It is also why I’ve experienced one hilarious “drawback” to DailyMile; I’m addicted to it. I’m not addicted to working out, I’m addicted to racking up the miles, calories burned, every minute of every bit of physical effort I put forth, I log. Since starting DailyMile, a little over two weeks ago, I’ve racked up 25 workouts totaling 12 hours, 40 miles (biking & walking), and 6,457 calories.

Motivated by all of these factors, I now do at least 1 hour a day (in 30 minute increments), and now with less of a break in between. I have also branched out to beginner Pilates. Today, I even did half an hour of Yoga, half an hour of Pilates, and then half an hour of Intense Vinyasa Yoga, with 5 minute water breaks in between. I sweat, I get tired, and sometimes I really have to Make myself do it. I take breaks when I need to (including days off) but every day I do work out, I always feel a million times better. It’s all about getting started, and using that momentum to push through to a happier, healthier outlook on life!

2 comments so far

  1. nick on

    Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post

    again soon!

  2. planetcaroline on

    Thanks for the tips. Lately, I exercise within normal activity (eg. running for train, rushing for no reason, dancing on weekends).


Leave a Reply

