So here’s the thing…

I know I said I was going to better about posting here, and when I said that I really meant it, I swear! I even created an editorial calendar and made a point of making space to create content on a weekly basis. Then in a span of 3 weeks over the summer, everything changed – but two major events effected my life the most. I had a solo show at University Arts League  and I got a kick ass job at Canary Promotion working with Arts, Culture, Entrainment and Mission Driven Clients where I have been rocking out for the past few months. Not only are the clients awesome, my coworkers are amazing and I feel incredibly lucky to be working in a functioning collaborative environment where I am encouraged to explore and express new ideas for projects. I often feel a personal connection to my work, literally making my passion my job, but more exciting than all of that is the opportunity  to learn new things everyday and as more time passes I feel my confidence continue to grow.

This fall was insanely busy & I’m looking forward to exciting new projects on the horizon! I’m also looking forward to some amazing community driven events coming up in Philadelphia this week:

Open Web Studio
LITTLE BERLIN
Thursday, November 11| 6-8PM
119 West Montgomery Street
Philadelphia, PA 19125

Organized by the incredibly awesome & amazing Kelani Nichole (she’s actually super involved with all of the events mentioned here). I went expecting to share my area of experience, and instead got totally schooled on something I’ve been playing around with for the past few weeks. I’m excited to explore something new, and now I have more confidence and better tools to move forward with an ongoing project – I can’t wait for the next  Open Web Studio at Little Berlin (stay tuned, TBD)!

Barcamp Philly Weekend!
KICKOFF PARTY @IndyHall
Friday, November 12th | 6-9PM
20 North 3rd Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
RSVP Required!

This Kick off party sounds like it is going to be sick! Science, Magic, a Mural, Gaming, Food & Drink, ??? Anything can happen (and with this crowd probably will). Registration is required for this event!

BARCAMP PHILLY @ UArts
Saturday, November 13th 2010
Registration Opens at 8am
Sessions from 10am – 6pm
The University of the Arts
211 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Registration is currently closed, but you can sign up for the wait list here.

I can’t say it any better than what they have on the website, but here’s a time lapse video of the schedule board from last year, which I thought was pretty cool:

AFTERPARTY @NatMechanics
Saturday, November 13th | 6-10PM
22 South 3rd Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

After a day of absorbing everything around you, get a beer and play some rock band or enjoy an impromptu dance party. This party generally ends around ??? And of course there is generally the annual post-barcamp-recovery  brunch on Sunday!

TEDxPhilly
Thursday, November 18, 2010
Perelman Theater
The Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts
260 South Broad Street
(Avenue of the Arts)
Philadelphia, PA

From the TEDxPhilly website:

“TEDxPhilly celebrates what’s happening right here, right now in our city. The event’s goal is to showcase practitioners, makers, and thinkers who are contemporary and thought-provoking; who are pushing the boundaries of their own disciplines; and who are working towards a more purposeful, socially responsible future.

TEDxPhilly is also a framework where Philadelphians will converge to share ideas that matter, and hopefully, turn those ideas into actionable outcomes after the event.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

